Classic Chocolate Cake

20130506-194617.jpg
There wasn’t too much I craved while I was pregnant, but I did crave perfect chocolate cake. Perfect meaning moist, rich, intense chocolate taste, right amount of sugar and perfect frosting. I’m no longer pregnant, but I still periodically crave this cake. I didn’t use the frosting recipe in the link provided; I used the one below. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

20130506-194758.jpg

NOTE: The batter looks quite runny after you add the coffee, this is how it’s supposed to be. The first time I made it I thought I messed up, but don’t fret, it’ll turn out. Also, I didn’t line the pans with parchment and flour, I used butter and cocoa powder instead.

Creamy Chocolate Butter Icing

1 cup butter, softened (has to be softened)

5 cups icing sugar

2/3 cup whipping cream

2 oz unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled

2 tsp vanilla

NOTE: This frosting is too generic and bland for me, so I add a little bit more than 1 cup of cocoa, and then it is perfect!

In bowl, beat butter until light; alternately beat in icing sugar and cream. Beat in chocolate and vanilla. If desired, add in 1 cup or more of cocoa powder.

20130506-194731.jpg

Leave a Reply

