The Soft Red

20130509-234057.jpg

{perfect everyday makeup}

Ever since I can remember being able to apply make-up, not in secret, I have been on the lookout for a soft red lipstick. Soft red as in a light, pinky red. A shade perhaps similar to the beautiful, rosy lip colour of a small child or the colour lips would be after an intense makeout session (not to mention plumpy). To me, this is the iconic, soft, reddy stain on a Parisian woman that can be worn season after season, any occasion, any time of day. It is truly classic and sophisticated and suits everyone. It never goes out of style.

I started my quest to find this perfect, soft red at the convenience store, in the form of Cherry Chapstick. I then progressed to Annabelle, which came in a chubby lipstick pencil in a soft, pretty pinky red. I remember it being a bit brown, but that was ok because brown was cool then. Since then, I have gone through a long list of products in hopes of finding this colour that I have so clearly in my mind. Some products that I’ve tried are:

  1. MAC – Hot Tahiti
  2. Chanel Lip Stain – 733
  3. Chanel Rouge Allure – Amusing
  4. The Body Shop – Pink Ginger
  5. Dior Addict Lipstick – 773
  6. Chanel Rouge Coco – Rouge Orage
  7. Chanel Rouge Coco – Mademoiselle
  8. (as worn on Vanessa Paradis above)

  9. MAC Viva Glam Cyndi
  10. Estée Lauder Pure Colour Pomegranate Kiss
  11. Arbonne Jam
  12. Revlon Red Laquer
  13. Burt’s Bees Fig
  14. Lipstick Queen Saint Rouge
  15. Chanel Rouge Coco – Cambon
  16. Jane Iredale Nicole
  17. Rouge Dior – Rouge Blossom

I’m going to stop now because I’m starting to feel a bit guilty. Somewhere in this list, I did find what I was looking for, in a lip pencil. Chanel created a beautiful, wonderful lip liner called Griotte which is exactly what I was looking for… But, it’s a lip liner. You can’t pull out your beautiful compact and apply lip liner, you need the bullet. And its been discontinued, so it only makes an appearance for special occasions. So, my search went on. What I really need to do is write Mr. Peter Phillips replacement at Chanel (do they have one yet?) a letter and ask them a) to bring Griotte back and b) make lipstick of the same colour. If they did, I might not ever need to buy another lipstick again.
The above list may be helpful if you are on the hunt for a perfect soft red. The closest to what I’ve been looking for have been marked in bold.

20130509-234132.jpg

Leave a Reply

